California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

Honoring Scholarship and Creative Activity

Campus Holds Program Recognizing Faculty Activity Beyond the Classroom

March 27, 2013

Campus faculty members were recognized Wednesday, March 27, for their scholarly and creative activity during a special program in the Titan Student Union. The program honored full-time faculty members who have a record of scholarly or creative activity "of the highest quality" during the past three years, including peer-reviewed articles and books, grants, performances, exhibitions and presentations.

"I am impressed by the breadth of scholarship and creativity I see and am proud to be your colleague," said José L. Cruz, provost and vice president for academic affairs, during the luncheon program. "We are always better served by our teacher-scholars to not only push the frontier of knowledge but also to broaden our students' opportunities for success."

"This event began in 1995 as a way for us to acknowledge the outstanding scholarly and creative activities of our faculty," said Chris Renne, director of the Faculty Development Center. "In 1996, we honored faculty for outstanding teaching, and the following year we focused on service to the campus and community. Over time, in doing this event, we not only found out more about ourselves and our various activities, but we found a way to display the range and complexity of faculty work.

"While the focus of this event rotates each year, the central theme remains constant: the faculty of Cal State Fullerton are engaged and dedicated … and this year, we honor their scholarship and creative activities."

"This is passion day," said Ed Trotter, interim associate vice president for undergraduate programs. "We are recognizing the essence of you. This is what it's all about. I am delighted to share today with you."

This year's honorees are:

College of the Arts

Art — Joseph E. Biel, John Leighton and Chen Wang; MusicJohn Koegel; and Theatre and Dance — Bruce Goodrich, Mark Ramont and Svetlana Efremova Reed.

Mihaylo College of Business and Economics

Accounting — Jianxin "James" Gong and Wei Jiang; Economics — Mohammad U. "Rokon" Bhuiyan, Sherif Khalifa and Kristin Kleinjans; FinanceMichael LaCour-Little, Zhenguo Lin and Xiaoying Xie; Information Systems and Decision Sciences — Daniel Soper, Ofir Turel and Dawit Zerom; Management Shaun Pichler; Marketing — Ray L. Benedicktus and Steven Chen.

College Of Communications

Communications — Christine "xtine" Burrough, Jason M. Shepard and Douglas J. Swanson; Human Communication Studies — Tenzin Dorjee, Jason Teven and Stella Ting-Toomey; Radio-TV-Film — Gloria Monti.

College of Education

Educational Leadership — Daniel S. Choi; Elementary and Bilingual EducationLoretta Donovan, Timothy Green and Terri Patchen; Reading — Rosario Ordoñez-Jasis; Secondary EducationEllen Kottler; Special EducationJanice Myck-Wayne and Kristin Stang.

College of Engineering and Computer Science

Civil and Environmental EngineeringBinod Tiwari; Computer EngineeringKiran George; Computer Science — Kevin Wortman; Electrical Engineering — Joseph Costantine.

College of Health and Human Development

Child and Adolescent StudiesDiana Guerin and Pamella Oliver; Counseling — Matt Englar Carlson; Health ScienceAnthony S. DiStefano and Michele Wood; Human Services — Trent Nguyen; KinesiologyDan Judelson, Matthew Llewellyn and Daniela Rubin; NursingDana Rutledge; Social Work — Caroline Bailey. 

College of Humanities and Social Sciences

American StudiesErica Ball and Carrie M. Lane; Anthropology — Steven R. James, Sara E. Johnson and Karen Stocker; Chicana and Chicano StudiesPatricia A. Pérez; Comparative Religion — Zakyi Ibrahim; English, Comparative Literature and Linguistics — David Kelman and Brian M. NortonCriminal JusticeStacy L. Mallicoat; GeographyRobert A. Voeks; HistoryBenjamin Cawthra and Maged S.A. Mikhail; Modern Languages and Literatures — James Hussar and Cheryl B. Zimmerman; Philosophy — JeeLoo Liu; Political Science — Shelly Arsneault; Psychology — Michael H. Birnbaum, William Marelich and Nancy L. Segal; Sociology — Patricia Literte and Carter Rakovski.     

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Biological ScienceMath Cuajungco, Jochen Schenk, Paul Stapp and Marcelo Tolmasky; Chemistry and Biochemistry — Peter de Lijser, John Haan and Zhuangjie Li; Geological SciencesMatthew E. Kirby and Jeffrey R. Knott; Mathematics Scott Annin and Bogdan Suceavă.

Pollak Library

Mike DeMars  

Student Health and Counseling Center

Counseling and Psychological Services — Ya-Shu Liang 

Tags:  Announcements