California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

García Named Chair of AACU Board of Directors

National Association Champions Quality and Vitality of Undergraduate Liberal Education

Feb. 13, 2013

Hispanic woman

President Mildred García

Download Photo

Cal State Fullerton President Mildred García has been elected to lead the Association of American Colleges and Universities as chair of the national organization's board of directors.

At its recent annual meeting in Atlanta, the AACU named five new directors and elected a slate of new officers as 2013 leaders of the Washington, D.C.-based organization.

"Being selected as chair of the board of directors is an honor and a truly exciting way to continue my work with AACU. I'm so proud being a part of an organization that is at the forefront of advancing liberal education and inclusive excellence in higher education," said García.

"There are few national goals more important than AACU's work in promoting student achievement, particularly through educational practices that honor diversity and address issues of equity. I look forward to furthering our renewed goals for this year, which focus on civic learning, ethical reasoning and student engagement."

For more than a decade, García has been actively engaged with the association in various roles. She joined the board of directors in January 2008, and last year, served as vice chair.

García succeeds Boggy Fong, president of Ursinus College, in the one-year post, effective Feb. 1. Fong will continue to serve on AACU's board as past chair. Kenneth Ruscio, president of Washington and Lee University, was elected vice chair of the board.

Dianne F. Harrison, president of Cal State Northridge, and Alex Johnson, president of the Community College of Allegheny County, are the two newly appointed members to the board's Executive Committee.

New directors appointed to AACU's board include five educational leaders from institutions around the country. They are:

  • Johnnella Butler, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Spelman College
  • Ricardo Fernández, president, City University of New York–Herbert H. Lehman College
  • Richard Guarasci, president, Wagner College
  • Lucille Jordan, president, Nashua Community College
  • Robert L. Niehoff, president, John Carroll University

Individuals currently serving on AACU's board of directors and reappointed for a second two-year term are:

  • James P. Collins, Virginia M. Ullman professor of Natural History and Environment, Arizona State University
  • Dianne Harrison, president, Cal State Northridge
  • Alex Johnson, president, Community College of Allegheny County
  • Edward Ray, president, Oregon State University
  • Sidney Ribeau, president, Howard University
  • Theda Skocpol, Victor S. Thomas professor of government and sociology, Harvard University

Marc Roy, provost, Goucher College, will begin a two-year term as chair of the American Conference of Academic Deans and ex officio member of the AACU board of directors.

AACU is the leading national association concerned with the quality, vitality and public standing of undergraduate liberal education. Its members are committed to extending the advantages of a liberal education to all students, regardless of academic specialization or intended career. Founded in 1915, AACU now comprises nearly 1,300 member institutions — including accredited public and private colleges, community colleges, research universities, and comprehensive universities of every type and size.

By: Debra Cano Ramos, 657-278-4027

Tags:  Campus UpdatesEvents