California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

CSUF President García’s Inauguration Set for Feb. 1

Jan. 8, 2013; updated Jan. 30, 2013

woman in blue suit

Mildred García

Download Photo

Mildred García will be inaugurated as Cal State Fullerton's fifth president in a public ceremony at 9 a.m. Feb. 1 in Meng Concert Hall of the Clayes Performing Arts Center.

The inaugural theme is "Celebrating Titan Pride: Reaching Toward a Promising Future and Ensuring Student Success," and the inauguration ceremony — underwritten entirely by donated funds — will be followed by a reception. The event is open to the public, though seating is limited. Reservations can be made online.

Twenty-two community members, including 13 CSUF graduates, are serving on the CSUF Inauguration Community Committee. The graduates, listed with degree years, are: My-Ngoc Allred '95, vice president and district manager for Wells Fargo; Jo Etta Bandy '94, senior director of corporate communications for Ingram Micro; Paul Carter '92, attorney, Bergkvist, Bergkvist & Carter LLP; Kristin Crellin '95, executive director, school and community relations for SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union; David DeFilippo '92, regional vice president, Southern California for Union Bank; Lucy Dunn ’76, president and chief executive officer of the Orange County Business Council; Julie Espy '92, manager, training and development for the Orange County Transportation Authority; Gary Green '80, executive vice president and manager, California Bank & Trust; Rudy Hanley, president and chief executive officer, SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union; Julie Miller-Phipps '83, senior vice president and service executive director for Kaiser Permanente, Orange County; Tam Nguyen '05, president of Advance Beauty College; Kerri Ruppert Schiller '82, senior vice president and chief financial officer for CHOC Children's; Donna Schroeder '71, founding partner, Schroeder Management Co. and Gayle Tauber ’73, founder, Kashi.

Other community members serving on the committee are: Silas Abrego, emeritus CSUF vice president for student affairs; Jill Bolton, director of community relations for the Disneyland Resort; William Cave, market president for U.S. Bank.; Hector Infante, manager, policy, government and public affairs for Chevron Corp.; George Kalogridis, president, Disneyland Resort; Tina Javid, manager, public affairs for Sempra Energy; Eddie Marquez, public affairs region manager for Southern California Edison; and Anthony Piazza, vice president, administration for American Honda Motor Co. Inc.

On campus, Joseph Arnold, dean of the CSUF College of the Arts, chairs the Inauguration Steering Committee.

In January 2012, the CSU Board of Trustees selected García, then president of Cal State Dominguez Hills and the CSU's first Latina president, to become Cal State Fullerton's fifth president. García assumed leadership of the most populous campus in the CSU last June.

The author of several books and articles focused on the impact of equity in higher education, García serves on President Barack Obama's Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanics, among other national boards.

She earned her doctorate in education and a master's degree in higher education administration from Columbia University. In addition, she holds a master's degree in business education/higher education administration from New York University and a bachelor's degree in business education from City University of New York.

More than two decades have passed since Cal State Fullerton celebrated a presidential transition, with the investiture of Milton A. Gordon as the fourth president of the university on Sept. 25, 1992. García succeeded Gordon, who had served as president since August 1990.

Other previous CSUF presidents: Jewel Plummer Cobb, who served from 1981-1990; L. Donald Shields, from 1971-1980; and the late William B. Langsdorf, the inaugural president, who served from 1959-1970. Shields also served as acting president from 1970-71, as did the late Miles D. McCarthy from January-October 1981 and Willie J. Hagan from January-June 2012.

The 9 a.m. ceremony has been planned as part of Homecoming Week festivities. In addition to the inauguration, Homecoming Week events include:

  • Tuesday, Jan. 29, at noon: Associated Students Inc. All-Campus Homecoming Pep Rally in the Quad
  • Wednesday, Jan. 30, at noon: ASI Titan Shops Homecoming Fashion Show in the Quad
  • Saturday, Feb. 2, at 5 p.m.: Homecoming Pre-game Festival in Titan Gym and Student Recreation Center Lawn
  • Saturday, Feb. 2, at 8 p.m.: CSUF Titans face the Rainbow Warriors of the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa in Titan Gym.

Besides Arnold, the other 15 campus members serving on the Inauguration Steering Committee are: John W. Bedell, chair of the Academic Senate and emeritus professor of sociology; Ann Camp, chief of staff, Office of the President; Michele Cesca, associate vice president, central development; Robin Crew, executive assistant, vice president for information technology; Jeffrey Cook,
associate vice president, strategic communications; Marc Dickey, chair of the Music Department; David Forgues, chief of operations for student affairs; Kristen Jasko, parking services manager; Stefanie Light, senior director of major events for university advancement; Dianna Lopez Fisher, executive director of alumni relations; Dwayne Mason Jr., president, Associated Students Inc.; Christopher Reese,
director of community relations; Leticia Stotler, special events coordinator and University House manager, Office of the President; James Taulli,
associate dean of the College of the Arts; and Rochelle Woods, interim director of the University Learning Center.

A comprehensive, regional university with a global outlook, Cal State Fullerton enrolls more than 34,000 students and offers 107 degree programs in eight colleges. Accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, CSUF is eighth in the nation for the number of bachelor’s degrees awarded to minority students and first in California for the number of bachelor’s degrees awarded to Hispanics.

Media Contacts:

Christopher Bugbee, 657-278-8487 
Paula Selleck, 657-278-4856

Tags:  EventsTitan Pride