California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

Honoring an Educator Event April 20

Program Recognizes Educators, Funds Scholarships for Future Teachers

April 15, 2013

Rachelle Cracchiolo

Rachelle Cracchiolo

Download Photo


Cal State Fullerton’s College of Education is hosting its eighth annual Honor an Educator awards reception April 20 to recognize educators who have made a difference in the lives of others and to raise funds for student scholarships.


Saturday, April 20
7-9 p.m.


Cal State Fullerton
Titan Student Union’s Portola Pavilion
800 N. State College Blvd., Fullerton, 92831


The local K-12 teachers, Cal State Fullerton faculty members and other educators who make up the honorees have made outstanding contributions to education and student learning, and include retired teacher Cynthia Miller, who taught for 39 years, and was nominated by Ruth May-Siegrist, CSUF emeritus professor of reading, and the Hazel Miller Croy Reading Center Committee, whose members are raising funds for the center.            

For the first time, an alumna and former teacher, Rachelle Cracchiolo (B.A. psychology '71, M.S. education '76), founder of Teacher Created Materials of Huntington Beach, is the event's presenting sponsor. Cracchiolo is a  Vision & Visionaries award recipient. Event proceeds support scholarships for teacher preparation candidates and graduate education students.

The College of Education has the list of nominees.

Special Presentations:    

Visionary Educator — This year’s Visionary Leader Award honoree is  Mildred Donoghue , emeritus professor of elementary and bilingual education and a longtime campus donor whose projects include Pollak Library's Donoghue Children’s Literature Center.

Education Excellence — will be presented to the Brea-Olinda Unified School District and the City of Maywood

National Board Teachers — 28 local educators will be recognized for achieving National Board certification, the highest symbol of professional teaching excellence.


To donate to College of Education student scholarships, contact Jane Hansen at 657-278-7485 or

Media Contact: 

Debra Cano Ramos, 657-278-4027

Tags:  Campus UpdatesEventsTitan Pride