California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

Spotlight: Honoring Top Faculty Members

June 7, 2013

With award season in full swing, Cal State Fullerton’s top prizes for faculty members have been bestowed. And the awards went to:

  • Sora Park Tanjasiri, professor of health science, named the 2013 CSUF Outstanding Professor
  • Maria Linder, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, winner of the inaugural L. Donald Shields Excellence in Scholarship and Creativity Award
  • Sean E. Walker, associate professor of biological science, recipient of the Carol Barnes Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Kari A. Knutson Miller, chair and professor of child and adolescent studies, recipient of the Faculty Leadership in Collegial Governance Award

Tanjasiri also has been named a “Champion of Health Professions Diversity” by The California Wellness Foundation.

Other faculty members recently honored with awards include:

  • CSUF President Mildred García received several honors, including the “Breaking the Glass Ceiling” Award from the California Legislative Women’s Caucus and the Mexican American Opportunity Foundation’s Woman of the Year Award.
  • Joshua Smith, assistant professor of physics, won a $450,000 National Science Foundation Early Career Development Program award.
  • Robert D. Kersey, professor of kinesiology and director of the university’s Athletic Training Education Program, this month is being inducted into the Hall of Fame of the National Athletic Trainers’ Association.
  • Nancy L. Segal has won the The American Psychological Association’s 2013 William James Book Award for her latest book, “Born Together — Reared Apart: The Landmark Minnesota Twin Study” (Harvard University Press, 2012).
  • Robert A. Voeks, professor of geography, has been named a Fulbright Scholar to teach and conduct research in Mozambique during the 2013-14 academic year.
  • Shelly Arsneault, professor of political science, has been named this year’s recipient of the Harry Scoville Award for Academic Excellence by the Southern California Chapter of the American Society for Public Administration.
  • John D. Ibson, professor of American studies, received the inaugural Harvey Milk Day “Hope Is Never Silent” Award, presented by Cal State Fullerton’s LGBT and Queer Studies Center and The Center OC.
  • Nancy E. Snow, professor of communications, has been awarded an Abe Fellowship from the Social Science Research Council.
  • Claire C. Cavallaro, dean of the College of Education; Jerome Hunter, lecturer in educational leadership; and Dawn Person, professor of educational leadership received “A²MEND” Awards from the African American Male Education Network and Development.
  • Lana Dalley, associate professor of English, comparative literatures and linguistics; Natalie M. Fousekis, associate professor of history and Furya Unal, lecturer in music, were named “Women of Distinction” by California Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva.
  • Jeffrey H. Brody, professor of communications; Randol Contreras, assistant professor of sociology; Diane Clemens-Knott, professor of geological sciences; Eugene Fujimoto, assistant professor of educational leadership; Daniel Sorrell, lecturer in art; Kimberly Tarantino, lecturer in accounting; Sharon E. Wilmer, lecturer in child and adolescent studies; and Kevin A. Wortman, assistant professor of computer science, received the Associated Students’ 2013 Outstanding Educator Awards.
  • Forty-seven faculty members, who recently published 42 books, were honored by the university with its Author Awards.
  • More than 75 faculty members were honored by the University for their scholarly and creative activity.
  • Jie W. Weiss, professor of health science; Jeffrey A. Kottler, professor of counseling; and Michele Barr, lecturer in kinesiology, received the College of Health and Human Development’s top faculty honors.
  • George “Max” Dery, professor of criminal justice; Terri L. Snyder, professor of American studies; Jack D. Mearns, chair and professor of psychology; Shelly Arsneault, professor of political science; Pamela Fiber-Ostrow, associate professor of political science; David G. Kelman, assistant professor of English; and alumna Jessica L. Grimes ’04 (M.A. sociology), lecturer in sociology, received the College of Humanities and Social Sciences’ top faculty awards.

Tags:  Titan Pride