California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

CSUF News Service

Walker Re-elected Senate Chair

May 22, 2014

Sean Walker , associate professor of biological science, returns for a second term as Academic Senate chair for 2014-15.

The Fullerton resident has served on the senate since 2010 and in addition to serving as senate chair, served as the organization's secretary during the 2012-2013 academic year. The Fullerton resident joined the campus in 2003 and was honored last year with the University's Carol Barnes Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Academic Senate develops, formulates and reviews educational and professional policy that becomes university policy if approved by the CSUF president. Besides faculty members, its membership includes administrators, two representatives from Associated Students Inc. and two staff members.

Also re-elected to serve on the senate's executive committee are: Emily Bonney of Long Beach, associate professor of liberal studies, vice chair; Stephen R. Walk of Fullerton, professor of kinesiology, secretary; and two of the three members-at-large: Sheryl Fontaine of Claremont, dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and professor of English, comparative literature and linguistics; and Kenneth J. Walicki of Fullerton, professor of music.

Amir Dabirian '85, '88 (B.S. engineering-electrical, M.S. engineering-electrical) of Orange, vice president for information technology and chief information officer, was elected treasurer, and Lynn M. Sargeant of La Habra, interim director of undergraduate studies and associate professor of history, was named the third member-at-large to the committee.

Serving on the statewide Academic Senate are alumna Diana W. Guerin '80 (M.A. psychology) of Fullerton, professor of child and adolescent studies, Matthew Jarvis of Placentia, associate professor of political science, and Senate Chair Sean Walker. Guerin and Jarvis also serve on the executive committee.

Tags:  Campus Updates