California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

CSUF News Service

Honoring Educators

Recognition Reception Supports Student Scholarships

April 3, 2014


Cal State Fullerton's College of Education hosts its ninth annual Honor an Educator awards reception April 13 to recognize local K-12 teachers, University faculty members and other educators who have made a difference in education and student learning, and to raise funds for student scholarships.

Honorees include:

CSUF alumnus Juan Vázquez, president of Santiago Canyon College in Orange. Vázquez '75 (M.S. education-reading) has spent 39 years in the California community college system, including 12 years as president of Santiago Canyon College. From 1973-75, he was a lecturer in reading at CSUF. He was nominated by Ruth May-Siegrist, CSUF associate professor emeritus of reading.

JoAnn Carter-Wells, CSUF professor emeritus of reading, will receive the Visionary Leader Award. Carter-Wells is the coordinator of the the University's first online degree program, the master of science in instructional design and technology, and served as the coordinator of the undergraduate reading program for nearly 20 years.

Other award recipients are listed online.


Sunday, April 13
7-9 p.m.


Cal State Fullerton
 Titan Student Union Portola Pavilion
800 N. State College Blvd., Fullerton, 92831


Education Excellence awards will be presented to the Orange County Council for Exceptional Children, as well as to Janet Morey, Susan Mercado, Emy Flores, Randa Schmalfeld and Robin Gilligan of the Fullerton School District. In addition, local educators who have achieved certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards will be recognized. The college's Center for Maximizing Teacher Impact provides support for educators seeking national board certification.

Presenting Sponsor:

Teacher Created Materials in Huntington Beach, whose founder is CSUF alumna and former teacher Rachelle Cracchiolo '71, '76 (B.A. psychology M.S. education).

More Info:

For more information and tickets (available until Friday, April 4), visit online
To donate to College of Education scholarships, contact Jane Hansen at 657-278-7485.

Media Contact:

Debra Cano Ramos

Tags:  Academics & Research