California State University, Fullerton

News Categories

CSUF News Service

Welcoming a New Class of President's Scholars

Aug. 13, 2014

This month, 20 new President's Scholars will join Cal State Fullerton's student body. As President's Scholars, they hold the most prestigious status the University accords to incoming students.

Thirty-five years ago, the President's Scholars program was launched at Cal State Fullerton. Today, about 400 scholars have graduated from this merit-based program. Those joining the program this fall bring the total number of currently enrolled President's Scholars to 74.

"We are very excited to welcome this incoming class of 20 incoming scholars," said Deanna Merino-Contino, director of President's Scholars and Future Scholars. "This year, we will be welcoming 15 first-time freshman who bring with them over 14,000 hours of community service. This includes volunteering for the Pink Ribbon Club, feeding the homeless and helping out at the Orange County Food Bank.

"Our five Veteran President Scholars have an average 3.86 GPA and represent the Army and Marine Corps branches of the military," she continued. "They have also demonstrated a strong commitment to leadership on their respective community college campuses."

This year's new scholars, representing a variety of academic disciplines, are:
Albany — Michelle Neu, communicative disorders
Anaheim — Rene Arevalo, mechanical engineering: Cassidy Foelsch, art; and Alejandra Gutierrez, undeclared
Covina — Natalie Jansen, liberal studies 
Davis — Allyson Weir, biological science
Placentia — Antonio Carrera, computer science; Trevor Casby, pre-business; and Charmaine Lim, nursing
Rowland Heights — Andrea Nguyen, kinesiology
Tustin — Alina Nguyen, biological science
Victorville — Jordan Bean, biological science
Whittier — Arielle Garcia, biological science
Yorba Linda — Laura Fong, pre-business, and Gabrielle Szczeblowski, biochemistry

The Veteran President's Scholars are:
Costa Mesa — Jason Boggs, pre-business
Fullerton — Daniel Duccini, pre-business
Indio — Armando Robles, political science 
Lake Forest — Ryan Smith, pre-business 
Monrovia — Timothy Hendricks, pre-business

President's Scholars receive a full scholarship that covers all tuition fees up to four years, plus a $750 annual stipend for textbooks and the loan of a laptop computer. The scholars, in turn, must be enrolled full time, maintain a 3.5 GPA, and contribute to university and community activities.

All scholars are granted automatic admission to the University Honors Program, priority registration, complimentary parking permits and consideration for on-campus housing. They also have opportunities to attend special seminars and meet periodically with the university president.

For more information, go to the program website or call the program office, 657-278-5494.

Tags:  Campus UpdatesTitan Pride