Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Welcoming the Newest Class of President’s Scholars

Share This:

This year’s group of President’s Scholars spans six colleges, with 17 students joining the most elite cadre of Cal State Fullerton students.

The President’s Scholars program is a rigorous initiative for high achievers in high school and military veterans entering from community college that provides high achievers with experiences and opportunities in academics, leadership, service and mentorship.

“We are excited to welcome these 17 students to the Titan community, one of them being a transfer veteran student,” said Jaime Hamilton, program coordinator for the Center for Scholars. “More than half of these scholars are living on campus — a record number for the program.”

The cohort, she added, has been engaged with the broader President’s Scholars community throughout the summer, participating in social and transition support activities.

To date, more than 400 scholars have graduated from the merit-based program, which provides four-year scholarships that cover enrollment and campus-based fees, an annual stipend for books and supplies, and on-campus housing. Each student also receives a new laptop for use all four years, highest and earliest priority registration for classes, and automatic admission to the University Honors program.

This year’s new scholars, home town and academic discipline are:

Anaheim — Aimee Fabella, kinesiology; Jennifer La, business administration-management
Arcadia — McKenzie Martin, nursing
Brawley — Arynn Jacqueline Weir, nursing
Chatsworth — Jared Eprem, communications-journalism
Elk Grove — Bao-Han Nguyen, nursing
Fullerton — Mayra Encinas, child and adolescent development; Jasmine Garcia, business administration-marketing
Modesto — Anna Murphy, communicative disorders
Rancho Cucamonga — Brianna Gilbert, biological science
Templeton — Brennan Tobin, undeclared
Victorville — Jeremy Martin, nursing
Visalia — Victoria Vigario, kinesiology
Yorba Linda — Asha Bhattacharya, business administration-finance; Grace Johnson, criminal justice; Shaina Nguyen, biochemistry

Incoming veteran scholar:

El Monte — Antonio Guzman, computer science