Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Honors Bestowed — Titans Receive National and Local Recognition

Share This:

The Cal State Fullerton chapter of the political science honor society, Pi Sigma Alpha, recently received the Best Chapter Award from its national organization. The best chapter award recognizes chapters that are active in their departments and universities and exhibit high levels of energy nad creativity in further the goals of the honor society.

The honor is the fourth national recognition for the Epsilon Eta chapter, and the third honor under the advisement of Valerie O’Regan, professor of political science. 

Yuying Tsong, associate professor of human services, was recently honored with the Section 5 Pioneer Award by Division 35 of the Psychology of Asian Pacific American Women. The honor recognizes an Asian Pacific feminist who embraces the mission of Division 35 and Section 5 in her professional identity and work. Tsong also was recently named 2017 president-elect of the American Psychological Association’s Society for the Psychology of Women.

Terri L. Snyder, professor of American studies, has been elected to a three-year term on the Council of the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture. The appointment follows Snyder’s recent achievements, which include receiving a National Endowment of the Humanities fellowship for her research on “Marriage, Race and the Meaning of Freedom in Early America,” as well as the Western Association of Women Historians’ Frances Richardson Keller-Sierra Prize for her book, “The Power to Die: Slavery and Suicide in British North America.”

Newly Named Emeriti

Cal State Fullerton recently recognized a number of campus members for their many years of service by conferring the title of emeriti. Among those honored:

  • Cynthia Bruns, senior assistant librarian emeritus, honoring 44 years of service, including nearly 11 years as senior assistant librarian
  • Betty Chavis, professor emeritus of accounting, for 21 years of service
  • Josefina Hess, professor emeritus of modern languages and literature, in honor of 29 years of campus service
  • James Hofmann, professor emeritus of liberal studies, for 34 years of service to CSUF
  • Gale Kirkland, athletics academic services counselor emeritus, in recognition of 25 years of service
  • Michael LaCour-Little, professor emeritus of finance, for 10 years of campus service
  • Julie Max, coach emeritus of athletics, in honor of 37 years service at CSUF
  • Nashat Saweris, lecturer emeritus in mathematics, for 18 years of service