Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Campus Members Honored for Service, Expertise and Creativity

Share This:

Whether its work in the classroom, in academic departments, in professional organizations or behind the camera, Cal State Fullerton faculty and staff have displayed dedication, expertise and creative skills that has earned their recent recognition. 

C. George Peale, professor emeritus of modern languages and literatures, has been elected to a four-year term as president of the International Association of Golden Age Spanish and Spanish American Theater (AITENSO). The association is devoted to the preservation and study of the theater of the 16th-18th centuries in Spanish, Portuguese and indigenous American languages.

Anthony Sparks, assistant professor of cinema and television arts, was nominated for a 2018 NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Writing in a Television Drama and as a producer for Best Television Drama for “Queen Sugar” season 2. This is the second consecutive year that Sparks was nominated for the industry award as an individual and as a part of a team on the show. The 49th NAACP Image Awards will broadcast live Jan. 15 on TV One.

In addition, the University has honored four campus members with the conferral of emeriti status. Honorees are:

  • Paul Lester, professor emeritus of communications, in recognition of 25 years of service to the campus
  • Jan Sheridan, administrative support coordinator emeritus, for 38 years for service to the Mathematics Department and the University
  • Bradley Starr, professor emeritus of religious studies, in honor of 33 years to CSUF
  • Sharon Willmer, lecturer emeritus of child and adolescent studies, for 20 years of full-time service to the campus