Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Faculty, Staff Honored for Contributions to Field, Scholarship and Creativity

Share This:

Communications faculty and Titan Communications staff members were recently honored for their their work and contributions. Honorees included:

Phillip Weir-Mayta, assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders, was elected into the Nu Sigma Upsilon Chapter of Alpha Eta Society at Nova Southeastern University and selected as Alumni of the Year in recognition of his significant contributions to the field of allied health. Weir-Mayta served 14 years as a speech-language pathologist before joining Cal State Fullerton faculty in 2014. He earned his master’s degree in speech-language pathology from Nova Southeastern and his doctorate from the University of Washington.

Emily Erickson, associate professor of communications and co-author of the study, “Transformative Variations: The Uses and Abuses of the Transformative Use Doctrine in Right of Publicity Law,” won second place in the law and policy division open paper competition at the Broadcast Education Association Conference.

The Rosanne Welch, lecturer in cinema and television arts, book “When Women Wrote Hollywood” was a runner-up for the Popular Culture Association’s Susan Koppelman Award, presented annually to honor a best book in feminist studies.

Eraj Shadaram, Nathan Jeffers and Jeffrey Whitten, all information technology staff and members of the Titan Communications team, garnered a 2019 Communicator Award of Excellence from the Academy of Interactive & Visual Arts in the Film/Video-Education/Educational Institutions category for “CSUF Rap,” and another in the Film/Video-Student category for “Titan Sports Report, Season 17, Episode 5: March Madness Has Arrived.”