Skip to Content (Press Enter)

Faculty Recognized for Service to Campus and Community

Share This:

Cal State Fullerton recently honored 78 full-time faculty members for their outstanding record of service to students, the university and the community. The annual Faculty Recognition Awards event, established in 1995, was held virtually for the first time this semester.

The recognition program, sponsored by the Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Faculty Development Center, acknowledges faculty in one of three areas that rotate each year: scholarly and creative activities, teaching and service. Nominees are reviewed and approved by department chairs, college deans, and the provost and vice president for academic affairs.


Art — Andy Fedak, Mary Anna Pomonis, Joanna Roche

Music — Ernest Salem, Robert Watson

Business and Economics

Accounting — Randy Hoffman, Richard Lu

Business Communication Program — Teeanna Rizkallah

Economics — Mira Farka, Kristin Kleinjans

Finance — Xin Che, Marcia Lucas, Arsenio Staer

Information Systems and Decision Sciences — Daoji Li, Sinjini Mitra, Daniel Soper

Management — Adelina Gnanlet, Richard Parry, Asad Shafiq

Marketing — Joshua Dorsey


Communications — Ken Hagihara, Robert Meeds, Waleed Rashidi, Chelsea Reynolds 

Communication Sciences and Disorders — Ying-Chiao Tsao

Human Communication Studies — Shanara Reid-Brinkley, Tara Suwinyattichaiporn


Educational Leadership — Nancy Watkins

Elementary and Bilingual Education — Pablo Jasis, Carolina Valdez

Literacy and Reading Education — Joyce Gomez-Najarro

Secondary Education — Antoinette Linton, Fernando Rodriguez-Valls

Special Education — Sung Hee Lee

Engineering and Computer Science

Civil and Environmental Engineering — Hakob Avetisyan, Kristijan Kolozvari

Computer Engineering — John Faller

Computer Science — Doina Bein, Paul Inventado

Mechanical Engineering — Sagil James

Health and Human Development

Child and Adolescent Studies — Lupita Espinoza, Sharon Seidman

Counseling — Matt Englar-Carlson

Kinesiology — Joao Barros, Daniela Rubin

Nursing — Rose Sakamoto

Public Health — Laura Chandler, Jasmeet Gill

Social Work — Michelle Martin, Duan Tran

Humanities and Social Sciences

American Studies — Dustin Abnet, Alison Kanosky

Anthropology — Ahmed Afzal, Sarah Grant

English, Comparative Literature and Linguistics — April Brannon, Erin Hollis, J. Chris Westgate

History — Aitana Guia, Jamila Moore Pewu

Modern Languages and Literatures — Nathan Carr, Reyes Fidalgo

Political Science — Veronica Herrera, Sarah Hill, Lidia Nuño, Valerie O’Regan

Psychology — Susan Sy

Religious Studies — Mugdha Yeolekar

Sociology — Maria Malagon, Latosha Traylor

Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Biological Science — Joel Abraham, Alison Miyamoto, Paul Stapp

Chemistry and Biochemistry — Marcos Ortega, Andrew Petit

Mathematics — Bogdan Suceavă

Physics — Leigh Hargreaves

Pollak Library

Collection & Scholarly Communications-Cataloging — Samuel Barber

Public Services — Megan Graewingholt

Read more about this year’s winners on the Faculty Recognition page of the Faculty Development Center website. 

Karen Lindell